The Ten Series and Each Session’s Goals Explained

The following is a brief outline of what you can expect with each of your first ten Rolfing sessions. Keep in mind that because your body is like no other, the sessions may vary to address your body’s needs on any given day. Sessions are 90 minutes in length. It is important to remember that the ten sessions together combine to free, align and refit every part of your body into one, unified whole that fits you as it was designed to do once again. In short, the ten initial sessions are intertwined to create purposeful change.

Session One: Breathing
The purpose of your initial Rolfing session is to increase the effectiveness of your breathing. With work taking place primarily in the rib cage area, this session expands your lung capacity so each breath you take is deeper, fuller and more nourishing. The session also involves the neck, upper leg and backs areas and begins the process of freeing the pelvis for more freedom of movement.
Session Two: Balance
The feet as the base of our bodies serve as our connection to the ground and are fundamental to proper balance. The second session focuses on the feet to improve your balance from the ground up, and includes work on the back and neck to add strength to your physical support system.
Session Three: Expansion
During this session, the sides of your body will receive the majority of attention. By lengthening the waist and rib cage, new space is created which allows for more expansion and freedom of breath.
Session Four: Lengthening
Creating a sense of longer legs with more fluid motion is the purpose of session four. The emphasis is on the legs from the feet to the pelvis, which begins the process of adding new length to the torso. Your weight begins to shift towards your center of gravity for greater balance. This session also includes work on the back and neck areas.
Session Five: Breathing
As in your initial Rolfing session, the fifth session’s focus is on expanding your lung capacity. In this session however, the emphasis is on creating a long front to balance the length of the front of your spine. The work is supported by additional work on your outer back and neck areas.
Session Six: Stability
This session serves to allow your pelvis more freedom of movement while it enhances stability. By lengthening the back of the legs, the pelvis is able to function in a healthier more horizontal manner. The work focuses on the heels of your feet and the backs of your knees, legs, pelvis, spine, rib cage and neck.
Session Seven: Crowning
By session seven, the lower body has become more aligned and balanced. Now it’s time to complete the vertical line by preparing the head and neck to rest the arms and back as well as the neck and head itself.
Session Eight: Integrating 1
Now the focus shifts to integrating the two parts of your body- either upper or lower half with its other half. This is done by concentrating on the pelvic girdle or shoulder girdle, depending upon which half receives work first. This is the first part of the two-part session completed in session nine.
Session Nine: Integrating 2
The integration process begun in session eight by focusing on one half of the body and is now completed by concentrating on the other half of the body. Again, this session serves to integrate the two halves of your body into one integrated whole.
Session Ten: Unifying
The tenth session involved the “hinges” of your body. Begging at the feet and ending at the head. At the completion of session ten, your body is more fully unified and free “to own” the integration accomplished through all the previous sessions. This begins a process, which will continue long after the conclusion of this session.